07
Jun
08

Ninjas, Guns and Drums

Without a laptop and internet access that doesn’t take ten minutes to type a damn a web address, damn you Wii, I’ve actually been playing some games.  F-yeah!

I’m slowly working my way through Half-life 2 at the moment and I’m getting the feeling that I’m close to the end.  Everything is leading up to the citadel and it’s really starting to ramp up.  This is my first play through of any game in the Half life series and I’m really enjoying it, there’s a level of polish on the game that cant be understated, it’s just great and I’ve got a feeling that once I’m through with HL2 I’ll be breezing straight through Episode 1 & 2.

img357/1710/hl2wp5.png

I’m still playing Rock Band and with a newly unlocked Live account I can finally download some tracks.  It’s still as good as I stated in my last post but with the added bonus of now having Bostons ‘more than a feeling’.  The downloadable content also seems to have addressed the difficulty level of the guitar, one of the niggles that was mentioned by Stephen during the 4 player play last week, the guitar isn’t as hard as guitar hero.  The downloadable content has added a few songs, that even on hard, are pretty damn tricky ‘shockwave’ being one of them.  I’m also getting to grips more with the drums and can now hold my own pretty confidently on medium, so it’s only a matter of time before I’m ramping up to hard.

Finally, as of yesterday, I’ve been playing abit of Ninja Gaiden 2.  Anyone wondering how it fares can check out the demo up on Live now.  Initial impressions are kinda mixed, the combat is fast, furious and about 10 times more visceral than DMC.  However there are serious problems, bearing in mind I’m only an hour or so in, you constantly fight the camera and are always in situations where you are barraged by objects off screen, it gets stuck on walls and sometimes just spazzes out for no reason. 

I’ve also managed to break the game too on the first level; hammering the ‘x’ button in a certain area causes you to rebound off an enemy and fly into the air and subsiquently cause the game to lock up.  With the news that the games director has left Team Ninja and Tecmo on the eve of the games launch, you cant help but get the feeling that the game was rushed and these glitches could have been fixed.  However, I’ll give it a play through and hopefully its just for the start of the game.

I wish I’d been playing some World of Warcraft… maybe I’ll find a gaming cafe somewhere.  Thats not going to happen down in Dumfries.

Mark

 

0 Responses to “Ninjas, Guns and Drums”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

I'm Mark Gibson & this is another one of my blogs where you're likely to find musings of daily life, gaming & just plain rambling.

Currently Playing:
Modern Warefare 2
Borderlands
Forza 3


Currently Watching:
South Park


Currently Listening to:
Cage - Depart From Me
Flobots - Fight With Tools


Currently Reading:
The Wheel of Time (again)


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 5,968 hits

Catagories

Xbox Live Gamertag

Movies

Uni

Random

Pages


