28
Feb
08

A lasting Impression

Seeing as I had a little free time tonight I decided to give Virtua Fighter 5 a whirl.  Its been sitting untouched in my pile of games since new years and whithout having played the demo, nor a virtua fighter game since the days of the Saturn & dreamcast, it was a little… odd.

 Dont get me wrong, It’s probably just because I’m used to playing DOA & Soul Calibur for the last several years, I just wasn’t as impressed as I thought I’d be.  There’s more menus than there needs to be, and while there’s a bunch of characters there’s nothing to tell you what kind of skill level they require.  The combat also feels kinda sluggish, blocking and reversals dont really seem to happen all that often and you always get hit mid combo for some reason even though you know you landed that last hit.  Then theres the AI, if you appear to be doing well the AI tends to stick to the lower attacks, forget the fact that you can just couch yourself, it doesn’t seem to matter to them.

But yet; this is only an hours worth, maximum, of play time.  No doubt I’ll go have another go at it after I get some more dissertation stuff.  I’m just not going to be in that urgent a need to play it.  DOA4 on the other hand….

Mark

0 Responses to “A lasting Impression”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

I'm Mark Gibson & this is another one of my blogs where you're likely to find musings of daily life, gaming & just plain rambling.

Currently Playing:
Modern Warefare 2
Borderlands
Forza 3


Currently Watching:
South Park


Currently Listening to:
Cage - Depart From Me
Flobots - Fight With Tools


Currently Reading:
The Wheel of Time (again)


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Blog Stats

  • 5,968 hits

Catagories

Xbox Live Gamertag

Movies

Uni

Random

Pages


